”Mama Knows Best”

”Mama knows best when times get hard”

Most children idealise their parents, especially their mothers. We always look to her for her eternal wisdom, when things get hard. Most people believe their is a special bond between a mother and a child. Especially seen as they endured giving labour to you, often for a long period of time, and if it was a natural birth then it was most likely painful. Very painful. What happens when we don’t have that bond with our mothers? Are we destined to be empty, or to have some deficiency, or be lost for the rest of our lives.

 

Why do we place so much weight on this relationship. Speaking as someone who has never had anything close to a normal, or loving relationship with her mother, I wonder what it says about me, that even my grandmothers death couldn’t bring us together. Does having an abnormal relationship with the woman that bore me, mean that i am disenfranchised in some way? Or is the effect of a bad relationship merely a reflection of our personalities or history repeating itself.

 

 

 

What if mama doesn’t know best?

I’d like to know if their are any of you out their that have a special relationship with your mothers, or even had and what made that relationship special. Although i wouldn’t bet on me and my own mother ever working out our unspeakable issues. SO, back to my original point, what if we don’t have a figure in our life, that in modern society has been made to be something that is so important and idyllic.ย 

Sometimes, or almost all the time, it’s hard to follow your gut instinct, your head and heart, all at once. It’s damn near impossible. I think that in life, from what i’ve experienced in life, we’d rather play to the beat, rather than make our own. Why try and step outside our little box and try and rectify volatile situations, when you will be the only one in the line of fire?

So when, you are all alone, who is the person that is going to teach you right and wrong? how to hit on guys/girls? The person who will give you the awkward talk about sex, that one day you’ll reminisce and laugh about? These are all rights of passages, which pass through every boundary. The things that we consider to be normal, but we are all so different, how can we have things that we were all taught by that figure.

Either way that figure, with eternal wisdom, is haunting me as it slowly lurks through the shadows.

7 thoughts on “”Mama Knows Best”

  1. Interesting post…I think we all would like, although few of us have the perfect parent(s). Do they exist? I know I find myself looking for father like figures in life, those with more experience who are able to offer the guidance that I missed from my own father. In the end we don’t get to decide what parents or life we are given only how we decide to deal with it… : )

    Like

    1. Thank you. I agree, i am constantly looking for mother-like figures, i just wonder why i do that, when it is my father who is absent? Weird. I don’t think the perfect parents exist, but their are definitely parents who are so much bette than others. What scares me is just that, we can’t pick our parents.

      Like

  2. Personally, I grew up in a highly disfunctional home with my mother as a single parent. After I became an adult, we’ve had a lot of reconciliation, but we don’t have a special bond, either.

    As for your recent lost, I know what that’s like. For what it’s worth, I’m sorry, both for your loss and your lack of kin to grieve with.

    Like

    1. Well my mother is a single parent, so i can definitely relate to that. well maybe reconciliation is all we and even me can hope for. Thank you for your kind words, it really does mean a lot.

      Like

  3. We can’t pick our parents, that s right. But we can make the best out of this situation. No matter what has happened in the past, or how often we argue, I know my parents (especially my mom) would do anything for me. Everyone make mistakes, that s how life goes. If we learn from our mistakes & we try to make it better the next time, that turns out the best of us – and this special bond between parents & children..I think it s this daily grind, all the years a family managed together, which creates this bond ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. What if we are to stubborn or hurt, to make the best out of the situation? Thats lovely:) But i definitely don’t feel the same about my mother. I’m really hoping your right about the family bond. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. I know how it feels to be too stubborn & hurt.. The last years I had a lot of problems with my dad, everything was more important to him than me (my parents are divorced, he has a new wife, she takes care more about me than him ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). There were times when I didnt talk to him for months. But he is my dad & I told him he gets one last chance. I went one step forward to him, he did the same to me & I m so glad about ๐Ÿ™‚ That made our bond stronger.

        Like

Let Me Know What You Think, Hellions!

